First time applicants are subject to a business law examination and a trade
examination. Exam results are good for 5 years. The applicants must document 4 years
experience within the last 10 years as a journeyman, foreman, supervising employee or
contractor in the classification being sought. The license is issued for 2 years.
Application Fee / License Fee / Renewal Fee
$330 / $200 / $400 Active renewal (2 year)/$200 Inactive Renewal (4 year)
All personnel listed on an application will be required to submit fingerprints.
License entities include sole proprietor, corporation, partnership, joint venture and
limited liability companies. Corporations and limited liability companies must register
with the California Secretary of State prior to obtaining a license. Their address is
150011th Street, Sacramento, CA 95814. General Information can be obtained by
calling their automated number at (916) 657-5448 or by accessing their website at
www.ss.ca.gov/business. Any 2 or more licensees desiring to act in the capacity of
a joint venture must secure an additional license prior to the award of the contract.
Licensees may submit a bid as a joint venture prior to obtaining the joint venture
A contractor's bond in the amount of $15,000 is required on all active licenses. A
separate "Bond of Qualifying Individual" in the amount of $12,500 is required for
a responsible managing employee. A separate "Bond of Qualifying Individual" in
the amount of $12,500 is required for a responsible managing officer, responsible
managing manager or responsible managing member owning less than 10% of the
voting stock of a corporation or membership interest of a limited liability company. A
responsible managing officer owning 10% or more of a voting stock of a corporation is exempt from posting this additional bond. A responsible managing officer, responsible managing manager, or responsible managing member owning 10% or more of the membership interest of a limited liability company is exempt from posting this additional bond. A $100,000 surety bond (in addition to the $15,000 contractor bond) is also required for all active limited liability company licenses.
A certificate of insurance for workers' compensation is required on all active licenses
if employees are hired. An exemption from workers' compensation form must be filed
if no employees are hired. Active licensees must recertify their exempt status every 2 years upon renewal. All contractors holding a C-39 Roofing license must provide proof of workers' compensation coverage regardless of whether they hire employees or not. C-39 license holders cannot file an exemption from workers' compensation. Liability insurance with the minimum aggregate limit of $1,000,000 is required for all limited liability licenses with 5 or fewer persons listed as members of the personnel, plus, an additional $100,000 is required for each additional member of the personnel of record, not to exceed $5,000,000 total.
Limited reciprocal agreements exist with Arizona, Nevada and Utah. The benefit of the reciprocity is limited to a waiver of the trade examination, if the applicant is applying for a similar classification. The out-of-state license must be current and in good standing and in effect for at least the past 5 years.