Contractors must submit experience information and CPA-prepared financial statements. Audited financial statements are required for contractors seeking to bid on jobs estimated at $1,000,000 or more. Contractors seeking to bid on jobs estimated at less than $1,000,000 may submit CPA-reviewed financial statements. Maximum bidding capacity is set based on a 3 part formula. Prequalification is for 18 months from fiscal year end, and applications must be made within 4 months of the financial statement date. Prequalification is not normally required for maintenance projects regardless of the dollar amount. Processing time for prequalification is approximately 30 days.
Applicants must pass a written exam covering business,
finance and construction subjects with a passing grade of 70%. Applicants must
document a minimum of 4 years of experience, as well as provide a credit report
and a financial statement, not more than 12 months old. The applicant's credit report
must indicate a FICO credit score of 660 or higher and not reveal any unpaid liens or
judgments. Applicants whose credit score is below 660 must submit a licensing bond
ranging from $5,000 to $20,000 depending on the licensure classification sought.
Application processing times can vary depending on an applicant's circumstances;
however, the Department recommends that applicants allow for a minimum of 30 days to complete the licensure process. Renewal is good for a 2 year period. 14 hours of continuing education are required for each 2 year cycle.
Exam Fee / License Fee / Renewal Fee
$295 / $409 Certified / $200
/ $309 Registered /
Since July 1, 1993, a recovery fund for the benefit of consumers has been in effect. The fund receives its revenues from a building permit surcharge and fines. The fund will reimburse consumers up to $50,000 per claim or transaction, not to exceed a lifetime cap of $500,000 per contractor.
Applicants must earn a score of at least 75% on an examination
consisting of technical, general business and safety subjects. Experience requirement ranges from 3 to 6 years, depending on the type of experience . Applicants must provide credit reports and financial statements. Net worth must be a minimum of $5,000 or $10,000, depending on classifications . Liability, property damage and workers compensation insurance are required. Initial examination, application and license fees total $627.50 for a 2 year license . The 2 year renewal fee is $300. 14 hours of board-approved continuing education is required for renewal. The average time for processing an application is 30 days.
Fees / Fee Amount
Certified Examination Application / $327.50
Certified Computer Based Exam / $67.50 (Paid to vendor after approval)
Initial Certified License (active) / $300
I Initial Registered License (active) / $155
Add a County to a Registered License / $25
Initial Certified License (inactive) / l$55
Initial Registered License (inactive) / $55
Certified Transfer Application / $150
Registered Transfer Application / $50
Additional Business Application / $550
Endorsement Application / $500
*Some fees may not be applicable.
Contractors must execute a payment/performance bond when awarded a
public works contract exceeding $100,000. The governing authority awarding the
contract may exempt the contractor from the bond requirement, if the contract does
not exceed $200,000.
Florida has no reciprocity agreements; however, does endorse certain examinations
from California, Georgia and North Carolina for electrical contractors in select